New Year, New Start… again!

NB: This is a rambley post, mostly so I remember what I have done!!

After an excessive amount of food and alcohol over November and December, I have decided to bite the bullet and join Slimming World Online, again.

Why was it 2 months of over-indulgence and not just the regular 1 month?!  Well, there was a work Christmas party, London trip, birthdays, South Africa, more birthdays, Christmas functions, Christmas and New Year, and then that couple of days before you go back to work where you need to eat all the bad food in the house so there is nothing left to tempt yourself with!!

The culmination of the above is that I gained 7kg, or just over 15lbs.  Not really ideal!  Add that on top of the rest I still have to lose and you get a bit of a snug waistband in the work clothes.  Oops.

Slimming World is my chosen way forward.  I have dabbled with it for years, and always had good results.  But living on your own makes it much harder.  It does for me anyway.  Maybe you have a better sense of self-preservation than I do!?

Having registered for classes years ago in the UK, and registered online a number of times in the last 10yrs, I had the basic idea of what needed to be done and took myself off to the grocery store to stock up on healthy produce.  I got home, packed it all away, and sat with a massive bar of chocolate (it was still ‘eat the bad food’ day!) to plan my next few days of meals.

It was a bit confusing at first.  They appear to have ditched the “red day” “green day” concept, and everything is now this “extra easy” thing.  It’s going to take a bit of time, and a lot of reading, to get my head around this I think!

Breakfast was easy.  I am not a huge fan of breakfast food (unless it’s a Full English, which no one has time for in the mornings before work!) and I am wheat intolerant (not gluten, thankfully) which cuts out a whole host of breakfast cereals and obviously the breads.  Oh, did  I mention the nut allergy?!  Goodbye granola!

I’m left with fruit and yogurt which is absolutely fine because I really am not up for eating too much in the mornings.  Food does still need to interest me though, so I can’t just have an apple or a banana and eat it.  Instead, I went with strawberries, banana, blueberries, grapes and pomegranate seeds, with a couple of tablespoons of low fat Greek bio live yogurt.  Much more exciting.  And pretty!!

(This is where I should put a photo of my pretty brekkie, but I keep forgetting to take one!)

Lunches are the next task.  I like lunch, but I am lazy and never remember to prep properly!  But that needs to change and so I made my Greek Quinoa salad again.  This time I made a mix of white and red quinoa which tasted even better.  I just can’t eat this more than once a week.  It is really tasty, but not enough for me to binge on it!

Next up is my strange egg pie thing.  I cooked this for The Boy, and he didn’t like it, so he looked a bit worried when I was cooking it alongside dinner last night!  Is it mean that I didn’t correct him for a while!?

All my strange egg pie thing is, is a bunch of leftover veggies chopped up and put in a Pyrex dish, beaten eggs poured over, topped with cheese and baked in the oven.  A bit of an omelette I guess?  I don’t know what to call it, but it’s yummy!!  Today I am having it with lettuce leaves and non-fat cottage cheese… because I don’t fancy any of my salad dressings!

Dinner last night was surprisingly good!  I had picked up a Slimming World magazine, and seen a beautiful pasta bake recipe that I was going to try.  And then I couldn’t get half the ingredients of course, so sulked off home and upended the contents of the fridge and freezer to see what I could come up with.

Thankfully my freezer appears to be full of red meat, so I grabbed some sandwich steak.  Also, there appears to be rather a lot of spinach in there, so I figured I would do something with that too!  I stood there pondering exactly what, and then inspiration hit!  I would have all my favourite bits from a steak dinner, and combine it to sit on top of a jacket potato!  Inspired!

The mushrooms and onions were sliced and put in a pan with a splash of water, and left on a low heat for an age.  Very technical, I know.  Later on, the spinach was added.  Then the steak was cut into strips and pan ‘fried’ using fry-lite.  When it was cooked, I added it to the veggies and tossed in my “Healthy Extra A” quantity of cheese, and some black pepper, and mixed it all up so it melted through.  (My mouth is watering at the memory).

To serve, I popped some mixed leave lettuce on the plate.  I topped the jacket potatoes (which had been cut in half) with some tinned chopped tomatoes, and then the veg/steak/cheese mix.

I forgot to take a photo because I was starving at that point!

As for tonight’s dinner… I have no idea yet.  I know you should sit and plan things, and I did try, but I am dreadful at that.  I did for the breakfasts and lunches, but dinner is just too hard to think of in advance.  How do you know what you are going to fancy to eat for dinner in 4 days time!?  I think it will have something to do with steak again though.  I had blood tests yesterday and would hate to risk anemia!

(Yeah… I know it would take more than that, but it’s a great excuse and I am sticking to it!!)

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Start… again!

Leave a Reply

