3 Day Juice Cleanse

The Boy and I have decided that our cuddly bits are getting a bit too fluffy.  We are constantly falling on and off the diet wagon.  Mostly off to be fair.  It’s very nice being with someone who understands weight issues (he is the 2015 Mr. winner chap for his SW group), but it also means we have someone to dive head first into a chocolate for breakfast type scenario with if we fancy it!

Best breakfast in bed of the year!


Yep.  It was this pic that showed me a) again how well suited to each other we are, and b) that I need to get my weight under control urgently.  By “under control”, I mean start losing rapidly.

As we  laid there watching Happy Valley (just found it and can’t believe I have to wait until the end of 2018 for the next bloody series) and eating our way through our eggs, we discussed the various options of how to move forward.

Slimming World is always my go-to.  I understand what to do and how to do it.  I can count the syns in my head.  But that also means I know all the excuses in the book.

I don’t understand Weight Watchers and there isn’t enough reading online for it without joining, which I am not going to do unless I understand.

I refuse point blank to try the GM Detox.  I know it works but no.  I mean, a day to eat nothing but milk and bananas – two of my least favourite things.  Just no.

We decided in the end that a juice cleanse was worth a try.  Well, The Boy decided that he wanted to try that and I agreed to give it a shot.  I am not sure how well it will work, but I’m going to try.

Freshii is just around the corner from us and we quite like their salads.  It’s our healthy take out option.  They offer a one day, a three day and a 5 day cleanse.  One day sounds a bit like a cop out.  5 days sounds like hell.

For the 3 days you get 4 juices a day, plus a salad for dinner.  I couldn’t do a full day on just liquids.  I think it costs AED 280?  The Boy took care of all the ordering and paying while I sat on the couch with a glass of wine, reading the latest Jilly Cooper!

Juice 1 is “Carrot Zinger”, containing carrot, apple and ginger.

Juice 2 is “Red Power”, containing beetroot, lemon juice, ginger and carrots.

Juice 3 is “Green Energy”, containing apple, cucumber, lemon juice, carrots, romaine, kale and spinach.

Juice 4 is “Mighty Detox”, containing pineapple, ginger, apple, celery and cucumber.

These are to be consumed every 3hrs and in the order above.  Then, for dinner we will have a Metaboost Salad, which is spinach, kale, ‘field greens’, goat cheese, mango, almonds, carrots, edamame and a balsamic vinaigrette.  Minus the almonds for me of course.

That doesn’t sound too bad.

Except the kale.  That stuff makes my tongue unhappy.

And the balsamic vinaigrette.  That is not my favourite dressing.

But it will all be ok.  I can do this for three days.  Its just mind over matter, right?!

I have a few potential stumbling blocks though:

Firstly, texture.  If I don’t like the texture of something I can’t swallow it.  If I try, I will literally gag until I am in tears and just have to spit it out again.

Secondly, I like to eat.  To bite.  To chew.  I couldn’t have signed up for a full juice detox.  I have to have something to eat during the day.  I am hoping that by having the salad in the evening that it will keep me happier.

So, that’s the plan.  We weighed this morning and will be able to tell by the end of the three days if it’s worked.  I also have to make a food plan for Thursday so we don’t put it all back on falling face first into a pizza or something.  Perhaps a Freshii meal box because the temptation is removed then from the grocery store.

Friday there is a brunch.  Saturday there is a recovery period.  Sunday I hope that I will be on another 3 day cleanse because this week hasn’t been the hell that I think it will be and I will have felt so much better and more energised that I want to do it again.

I’ll let you know!

Leave a Reply

